Clinique Chubby Sticks for Eyes Vs Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Sticks

Ever since their launch I’ve been wanting to try out the Clinique Chubby Sticks for Eyes. Whilst browsing in Boots, with my Clinique purchase in hand, I came across the Rimmel Scandal Eyes Crayons and I immediately I had the idea of a comparison post. Just the thought of a cream shadow in a crayon form got me a bit too excited so over the past couple of weeks I’ve been getting to work on finding out which of these is the better buy.

DSCF0510

Packaging: This is going to be more personal preference, I prefer the Clinique one for the simple fact that it’s a twist up. You need to sharpen the Rimmel by doing this you’re going to lose a bit of product along the way. But you could also argue that because the Rimmel is slightly thinner, that it would be more travel friendly.

Colour Payoff: For me the colour payoff is really close, the intensity is so similar that to be honest the only difference is the fact that I have 2 different colours. The Clinique one is ever so slightly more pigmented but you have to look really close to see the difference and I don’t know about you but not may people come that close to my eyes.

DSCF0512-001

Application: Both of these are great for just sweeping across the lid for a splash of colour and going about the rest of your day. I tend to just throw it on my lid and then blend it out with my finger around the edges. The rounded tip of the Clinique makes it slightly harder to apply than the Rimmel one as you can’t get in the inner corner. Also just a side note, if you are a contact lens wearer do not do what I did and knock a contact lens out by pushing too hard on your eyelid.

Staying Power: Without a primer these don’t last an amazing amount of time, as they are a sort of creamy consistency I was anticipating them lasting as long as cream shadows but I was slightly disappointed. With a primer both of them lasted about 8 hours before starting to smudge, the colour started to fade after about 5 hours but it was still noticeable.

Colour Range: Clinique is the winner in this category with 12 shades, most of which are ‘everyday’ shades with a couple of more daring shades thrown into the mix. Rimmel has a more disappointing shade range  of 5, of which only 2 (in my opinion) are wearable for daytime.

Price: The Clinique Chubby Stick comes in at £16 for 3g of product and Rimmel at £5.99 for 3.25g.

After comparing them so closely I think I actually prefer the Rimmel one but because of the limited shade range if I wanted to try more colours I would go for the Clinique one. There are a number of these kind of products out there such as the NYX Jumbo Eye pencil and the Urban Decay Glide on Shadow pencils and i’m sure there are other ones floating about but these two were the only ones I could get to easily.

Have you tried either of these products? What do you think? Do you have any suggestions of any other products I could compare?

Thanks for reading! 🙂

xxx

One response to “Clinique Chubby Sticks for Eyes Vs Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Sticks

  1. NYX Jumbo ones are good but wear it with a primer as they tend to wear off quickly. They also have a long lasting shadow pencil with a limited shade range..

Leave a Reply

