Spring Nail Polish Picks

Finally it is warm enough to not need to wear scarfs, hats, gloves and thermal underwear. Spring has arrived in the UK and I thought I would share with you my favourite nail polishes for the spring time. I even tried to be extra creative in my photo taking, Essie’s Fiji ruined it with its over the top puddle. Never mind, on to the spring picks.

DSCF0507

I picked 2 Barry M polishes in the colours Peach Melba and Shocking Pink. Peach Melba isn’t the kind of colour I would normally go for as this colour normally makes me look rather ill. This, however, is the perfect shade of peach as it’s not too yellow toned and makes my hands look nice and sun kissed. Shocking Pink has a rather misleading name, I wouldn’t necessarily call it shocking. I genuinely want to know how the names of nail polishes get picked. The only word I can really find to describe this pink is ‘nice’ not a bad nice like ‘eh, it’s alright’ but nice like it’s the perfect in between pink colour. It’s not too bright and it’s not too pale, which is why I think it’s a perfect colour for spring. Did I say ‘nice’ enough?

Essie got 3 picks out of my collection. First up is Fiji, the photo ruiner.This is one of favourite nail polishes, it’s a very white pink and makes even my palest of the pale hands look slightly tanned and less ghost like. Next is Essie’s Mint Candy Apple it is the  most amazing mint green colour and I think it is the most perfect spring colour. Essie’s Cute As A Button is a bit brighter than the other colours and is probably considered more of a Summer colour. It’s a darkish coral and I think it looks great when worn with a simple outfit, such as a white/cream dress, to add some colour.

I chose 2 colours and a cool top coat from Models Own. The 2 solid colours are called Blooboo and Lilac Dream and they are just quintessential spring colours. The top coat is called indian ocean and I think this is from the Beetlejuice collection. These three shades work so perfectly together I could have just these colours and create numerous looks. My favourite way to use them is in a ‘pick n mix’ style where I use one of the solid colours on 3 or 4 nails and then the other solid colour on the remaining nails and then use the top coat on a couple of random nails.

Barry M retail at £2.99, Essie come in at £7.99 Models Own nail Polishes are £5 each.

What are your favourite colours for the spring?

Thanks for reading! 🙂

xxx

3 responses to “Spring Nail Polish Picks

Leave a Reply

