Review: Models Own Ice Neon Collection

Models Own is one of my favourite nail polish brands so when I was in boots a few weeks ago I thought I would pick up a few shades from the Ice Neon collection and have been testing them out ever since. They’re supposed to be matte polishes, which, I’m not actually too keen on but they’re not super matte and have a little shine to them. So if you do like the matte look you may be disappointed in these. If you do want them to be super glossy you can add a topcoat.

DSCF0609

Pukka Purple did only need 2 coats but when I added a third coat it just looked much better. This is the most versatile colour out of the range as even though it is a neon shade because it’s quite dark I could see myself wearing it throughout the year.

Left to Right: 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats, top coat.Pukka Purple. Nails left to right: 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats and polish with a top coat.

Toxic Apple was the shade I was most excited about. I feel when it comes to neon green there’s a very fine line between it looking amazing and it looking just plain wrong. Unfortunately this shade just didn’t look right on me. it might be my colouring as I feel this colour would look gorgeous on people with darker skin tones. This shade definitely needed 3 coats, if not 4 and overall I just wasn’t very impressed with this polish at all.

DSCF1057Toxic Apple. Nails left to right: 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats and polish with a top coat.

I picked up the shade Bubblegum because I seem to have a serious problem with buying pink nail polish and have a stupid amount that could be seen as very similar shades. Luckily this was the shade that I was most impressed with. You only need 1 coat although just out of habit I tend to do 2 coats anyway and this was the most matte shade out of the 3 that I picked up.

DSCF1055Bubblegum. Nails left to right: 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats and polish with a top coat.

The other 2 shades in the collection are a yellow (Luis Lemon) and a pinky-coral (Pink Punch). The reason I didn’t get these two shades as I thought the Luis Lemon shade wouldn’t look right on me and the Pink Punch shade is quite similar to the Bubblegum. Out of the shades I bought Bubblegum is my favourite and Pukka Purple is nothing like any other nail polish that I have. Toxic Apple was a big disappointment but that could mostly be due to the fact that it just didn’t suit me. On the website it recommends that you keep the polishes in the fridge to keep the colour strong.

The Ice Neon collection is available online at http://www.modelsownit.com/products/box-sets/ice-neon-box-set.html priced at £5 each or £20 for the full set of 5. You can also buy Models Own polishes from Boots (online and in store) and Asos.

Have you tried anything from the Ice Neon Collection?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

