Review: Rimmel Match Perfection Cream Foundation

A while ago I tried the Rimmel Match Perfection Compact Cream foundation and after loving the liquid version I had high hopes but it wasn’t meant to be. The thing I like most about this foundation is the packaging and that’s mainly why I bought it as I thought it would be great for travelling. It’s nice and compact and underneath the product is a sponge and mirror.

DSCF0483

DSCF0484

It’s quite a light coverage but can be built to reduce any uneven skin tone. It comes with a little sponge, which, isn’t actually that bad at applying the foundation but does pack it on a bit thickly if you’re not careful. It doesn’t have much staying power, about 4 hours, and as I have really dry skin I have no idea how it would last on oily skin but my guess is it’s not very long.

This is my first and only cream foundation so figuring what sort of application was best took a bit longer than usual. The sponge that it cam with is fine if used with a light hand and the only brush I could find that worked well was a flat foundation brush. The consistency of the cream made it quite difficult to blend and I had to work pretty hard to get rid of the lines from the brush so would end up using my fingers to blend everything. I think the best way to apply this would be with your fingers.

At £5.49 it’s at the cheaper end of the high street when it comes to foundations but it just doesn’t last very long. In my testing of the foundation I used it everyday for 5 days and I’ve already hit pan (I haven’t been using much of it either). I have now reserved the use of this foundation for touch ups and keep it in my makeup bag for work and for that purpose it’s working really well but as a stand alone foundation I’m just not that impressed and don’t think I’ll be repurchasing it.

Have you tried this foundation?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

