Disappointing Product: Toni & Guy Cleanse Dry shampoo

When I was preparing for a mini trip to London I wen to Boots to get some essentials and instead of going for the normal Batiste mini shampoo that we all know and love I went for the Toni & Guy Cleanse Dry Shampoo instead. It was more expensive than the other travel items but you got more product than the others and I wanted to try a dry shampoo from Toni & Guy for a while so I thought this would be a great way to do it.

20130801-195906.jpg

The thing with dry shampoo is that most of them could be used for both refreshing the hair and adding some volume and giving your hair a bit of a boost, so even if it doesn’t do one thing it normally does the other. This does neither. I am so glad that I only got a travel size of this but it was still around the £2 mark. Luckily, when I was in London I actually didn’t need to use this and it was about a week later that I first sprayed it on my hair and it did just about nothing. It is more of a grey powder and, for lack of a better work, it’s moist (how?). I tried spraying it from all different angles and it just doesn’t do anything to my hair. It doesn’t make my hair look any worse, I’ll give it that but it doesn’t make it look any better either.

I think my main problem with this is not necessarily the fact that it doesn’t perform, it’s the fact that a well known brand produced a product that isn’t worth the not so purse friendly price tag. If I was to have gone and got the full size it would have set me back £7.19 for 250ml and it is definitely not worth that amount of money. I also think that because Batiste pretty much dominates the dry shampoo market and when you can get an amazing product for £2.99, you’re going to be disappointed when you try out a more pricey product and it doesn’t live up to the cheaper alternative.

I feel like I’m being really harsh here and for all I know I may have got the dud one of the batch. I do wonder if I’m using it wrong but I think there’s only so wrong you can go with ‘spray on hair and rub in’. I’ve found very mixed reviews on this and have come to the conclusion that it must be a hit or miss product. This is just my opinion, so if you have this and really love it then please don’t be offended. Let me know if you have tried this and it’s worked for you. Or have you had the same experience as me?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

