Review: Chanel Stylo Eyeshadow Fresh Effect Eyeshadow

I’ve always wanted to try the cream eyeshadows from Chanel and when I was in London I decided that I would bite the bullet and get one. However, when I got to the counter I noticed that Chanel had come out with their take on the eyeshadow crayon trend and I decided to pick one of these up instead. I don’t know if Chanel have offered something like this before but I can’t remember seeing anything like it whenever I went to a counter.

DSC02315

The shade I picked up is Pink Lagoon (27) and the best way to describe it would be it’s a sort of rose gold colour but has more pink than gold. As usual with Chanel it has sleek black packaging but with this product they’ve put a very realistic colour near the end of the stick so if you were to have more than one you wouldn’t have to keep opening them all up to see which one was which. You can use the product as both an eyeshadow and an eyeliner and you can build up the colour to get a more intense look.

20130801-195947-e1375620448583

The first time I tested this out was when I was going to a family BBQ and it was HOT that day, like extreme heat (for England anyway) so I thought it would be a great time to test it out. I didn’t use a primer as I wanted to see how well it coped with the heat by itself and I am happy to announce that I was impressed. The product does have some glitter in it and about 5 hours after I had applied it the glitter did smudge up my eyelid but the colour stayed put. The colour started to fade around the 7 hour mark but it was still noticeable, just the intensity of the colour faded. I won’t be able to tell you if this product would completely wear off as I took it off after the 8 hour mark. Just FYI I have really dry skin so this may not last as long without a primer on someone with oiler skin.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I really need to stop buying high end makeup as I haven’t been disappointed yet and it makes me want to go and buy the whole counter. There are 6 shades to choose from and cost £23 for 1.4g of product (a lot less product than what other brands offer in their crayons) and I really want to pick up the shade Moon River which is a grey-brown colour that just screams Autumn. I think (I could very well be wrong here) that these came out with the summer collection but they are still on the Boots website, here, so I’m not completely sure if they are limited edition or not.

Everyone and their mother has started to come out with their own version of the eyeshadow crayon, what brand do you think does it best?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

