The Cream Blush

I’ll admit it, I am one of those people that stick to what I know and when it comes to blush I’ve only ever known powder blush. When everyone and their mothers dog started to release cream blushes, both at the higher end and lower end price-wise, I realised that I needed to give them a go and get out of my powder blush comfort zone. I know the cream blush isn’t the newest thing, I’m sure they’ve been out for ages but it’s taken me this long to try some out. I actually took a dedicated trip to Boots to pick some out and came away with 3 from different brands. These were the blushes that really caught my eye for a number of reasons and the main reason I didn’t go for a high end purchase was due to the fact that I’d never used a cream blush before and didn’t know if they were for me or not.

DSCF1031

DSCF1033

creamblush3

Revlon PhotoReady Cream Blush in Flushed – Let’s be honest here, the reason I chose this blush was basically because it was bright pink. I’m not normally one to wear bright blush but the colour was just so lovely I couldn’t resist. This is definitely the brightest out of the bunch but luckily it doesn’t come out that bright and can be sheered out. This is probably the ‘creamiest’ of the lot in consistency (more on the solid side compared to the other two) and unlike the other two, there is no glitter in this product. There are 3 shades to choose from at £7.99 each for 12.4g or product.

Maybelline Dream Touch Blush in 07, Plum – I chose this  every time I would go into Boots and for some reason it caught my eye but I never picked it up. This is a lot more, what’s the word, watery(?) than the other two. It’s certainly not a liquid but it isn’t as solid as the Revlon. Due to the consistency of this product I think it would be great for someone, like myself, who hasn’t tried cream blush before as it’s quite a sheer colour. I can get a nice and natural colour to the cheeks from this and the tiny specks of glitter give a lovely glow. This retails at £6.49 for 7.5g of product.

Bourjois Cream Blush in 03, Rose Tender – This has become my go to blush when I’m in a rush and my makeup needs to be done ten minutes ago. The consistency is very much in between the other two blushes I’ve mentioned and does have a small amount of glitter in it. It gives a natural rosy pop of colour to the cheeks and is perfect for my pale skin. This has a cream to powder formula, which, makes it so easy to blend and perfect for when you’re in a rush. Also, the packaging for this is so compact and comes with a mirror so it’s so easy to throw into your bag for any touch ups. There are 4 shades available at £7.99 for 2.5g of product.

All in all, I’m glad I tried cream blushes and I am now a convert. I still like powder blush, don’t get me wrong, but with cream blushes I feel like you can either really build up the colour or really sheer it out to get a number of different looks. Yes, to an extent you can do that with powder blush but I feel these are so much more effortless and especially when using your fingers to apply the product you can really pinpoint the perfect amount of product for the look you’re creating.

Have you tried cream blushes? What’s your favourite?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

