Review: L’Oreal Nude Magique Eau De Teint Foundation

I have mixed feelings about L’Oreal foundations, the Infallible is my all time favourite but the Lumi Magique was not good for me in any way. So, when I saw this on offer for £6.99 in Boots I thought why not give it a go. As you probably know L’Oreal is one of the more pricey high street brands so when I saw this huge saving I couldn’t pass it up.

DSCF1164

The first thing you’ll notice is the glass bottle with no pump so the packaging, quite frankly, is annoying. Glass always brings up issues of travelling and no pump just means you waste the product pouring it onto your hand. This foundation shows on the back of the bottle to use your fingers ‘like you would a perfume’, I would normally ignore this but this is the best way with this foundation because it’s so watery. There’s SPF 18 so beware of the ghostly flashback and weirdly enough there isn’t the usual amount of foundation in this bottle, only 20ml compared to the normal 30ml. This foundation dries as a powder and sets quickly so I suggest that you work with small bits of the foundation on small areas of your face.

As I mentioned above, the foundation is very watery and needs a good few shakes before each use, the coverage is light and although it will cover up small amounts of redness around the nose people like myself, with redness all over the face, will need to use a bit of concealer to cover it up. The coverage isn’t build able, it doesn’t make the foundation cakey but it will make no difference so you would be layering the foundation for no reason. On initial application it does cling to dry patches but don’t fear, somehow these disappear after a couple of hours, which, with very dry skin like mine is something I have never seen happen before. I’m not sure if this is just my skin as other reviews I have read have said that this foundation isn’t suitable for dry skin but it seems fine to me. It has a velvety finish and makes the skin feel so smooth and soft.

As for staying power, this stuff is bloody amazing. With other light coverage foundations I don’t really notice when it starts to wear away because it’s so light but with this every time I looked in the mirror it looked exactly the same. I know they say that a good test of a foundation is if the other products stay on your face (blush, bronzer, etc) and to be honest no it didn’t keep them on for as long as I would have liked it to but the foundation stayed looking pretty much exactly the same for a 9 hour shift. after 7 hours of wear I did start to get some redness around the nose but it was only when I was on my way out of work and I caught myself in the mirror did I realise it had started to fade. 9 hour wear for a light coverage foundation, in my books, is pretty damn good.

All in all i’m pretty impressed with this foundation. My main issue is with the packaging and I do prefer a medium coverage foundation but other than that I have really enjoyed testing this out. As I am writing this the introductory price of £6.99 is still going on in Boots, which, according to the website will end on the 30th of this month (30/10/13). The normal retailing price will be £9.99.

Have you tried this foundation? What did you think?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

