Review: Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

I fell for it. I fell for the hype. Not only did I fall for the hype but I got caught up in it and ordered my Naked 3 palette just a few minutes into House of Fraser releasing it online in December. The reason it has taken me so long to get this review up is because I just couldn’t make up my mind about it.

Lets get started with the packaging. It’s a rose gold colour and the case is very similar to the packaging of the Naked 2 palette but with a bit more of a design on it. I actually like the packaging of both the Naked 2 and Naked 3 palettes as they feel very robust and travel friendly.

IMG_1241

IMG_1242

All the colours are have a rose coloured undertone to them, which, for a person with my rosy complexion really work well. There are 3 matte shades in the palette with the rest being satin or glitter shades. As you would expect with glitter shades there is a bit of fall out so I put a cotton pad under my eye t catch it.

IMG_1429

From left to right: Strange, Dust, Burnout & Limit.

IMG_1418

From left to right: Buzz, Trick, Nooner & Liar.

IMG_1422

From left to right: Factory, Mugshot, Darkside & Blackheart.

The first four colours are very light, as you can see, but work really well for all over the lid or if you’re going for a very natural look. The second quad of colours are great for everyday or combining one of the colours with one of the lighter shades to get a natural smokey eye look. The last four are what I would keep for a more dramatic look and use them as a crease colour and/or eyeliner. There is no black in this palette and that might put some people off but I think that a black would have been too harsh for these colours. The darkest shade is great to line the lash line for some definition.

Do you NEED this palette? No, personally I don’t think it’s a must have. Don’t get wrong I love it and I don’t regret buying it for a minute and it suits my skin tone a bit better than the Naked 2 palette (which, for the last year I’ve used to death). So, it’s nice for me to have both of them and sometimes use them in conjunction with each other, but I sure as hell don’t need both of them. It’s a lovely palette and the colours are gorgeous but if you’re on the fence about picking this up and you already own another Naked palette, think about if the colours are something you would use on a regular basis, you don’t want to buy something then have it sit there collecting dust. I don’t own the original palette purely because the colours don’t suit me as well as the colours from the Naked 2 and 3 palettes.

The palette retails for £37, which, when you work out the cost of 12 Urban Decay eyeshadows and 2 brushes you are saving a huge amount of money. You can get the palette from House of Fraser, here.

Have you tried any of the Naked palettes? Which is your favourite?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

P.s. Sorry about the lighting in the first swatch picture. I have no idea what happened, nowhere in my house is that bright! Haha.

Leave a Reply

