Review: Avon Mega Effects Mascara

I had heard a lot about this in the blogging world before I decided to try it for myself. I got it from my Avon lady about a month ago and thought I would share my thoughts on Avon’s twist on the classic mascara wand.

The packaging is very different to the ‘normal’ mascaras and the first thing I thought when I got it was that it would be perfect for travel. Some mascaras do tend to overdo it when it comes to the packaging and you get a huge tube that you’re never going to get all the product out of (L’Oreal, I’m looking at you). Speaking of not being able to get all the product out, this packaging really confuses me when it actually comes down to using it. Another thing about the packaging is that you can’t use this mascara like you would a normal one in the sense you can’t do the whole hold a mirror and the tube in one hand and use the other hand to apply the mascara (this isn’t a necessity but always like the option)

IMG_1449

IMG_1451

Now lets talk about the wand. It’s curved to fit the shape of the eye and the handle can be moved to different angles to suit how you personally do your mascara. The best thing about this mascara is that it’s a five second wonder, it’s so easy to use (I did poke myself in the eye the first time I used it, a bit too excited) you literally sweep from the root of your lashes to the top and your done. No more getting the shorter lashes near your tear duct because the brush/wand get’s almost every lash.

IMG_1454

IMG_1459

I have two problems with this mascara. 1) It’s from Avon and if you use Avon regularly you know that from one catalogue to the next you can’t always get the same thing. When it comes to something like mascara I’d like to know that I would be able to get a hold of it when it ran out. 2) Other than the different type of brush, there’s nothing to write home about when it comes to the formulation. It’s nothing outstanding, it doesn’t separate the lashes as much as I would like and I still prefer my Maybelline Falsies mascara, which, is around the same price.

Have you tried this mascara? What did you think?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

UPDATE: I just found this on the Avon website, here, for £10.00.

2 responses to “Review: Avon Mega Effects Mascara

  1. I didn`t expect the brush to look like this… actually looks a bit scary 😀
    But the result is gorgeous! My personal favourite from Avon is Supershock mascara.

Leave a Reply

