Review: MAC Lipstick in Hue

Now even though I have a lot of makeup and I don’t mind forking over a lot of cash for certain items *cough naked 3 palette cough* I do tend to be a bit more sensible when it comes to non limited edition single items (such as lipsticks, eyeliners and mascaras). So spending £15 on a lipstick was a bit of an impulse for me and I kind of regret it. When I started to build up my MAC eyeshadow palette I was very interested in their lipsticks but there are so many to choose from I turned my attention to YouTube and blogs to see what other people had on the top of their lists.

A lot of people mentioned Hue as their favourite and most repurchased and obviously I took into account the skin tone of people so I would know if it would suit me. A number of paler people seemed to love it so I thought why not and on my next trip to MAC I decided to give it a go.

DSCF1104

DSCF1121

I have very mixed thoughts on this lipstick and unfortunately the majority of them aren’t good. To start with this colour does not suit me, I take responsibility for this because I really should have given it a go before I bought it, so that’s not really the lipsticks fault. However, the formula of this is not what I had expected at all. Now, I do have dry lips most of the time but none of my lipsticks have ever given me the effect that this lipstick does. It settled all into the cracks in my lips (and I have a couple of dents in my lips that are permanent so it doesn’t matter how much lip balm I put on) and just, quite frankly, looked ridiculous.

So, to me this product is definitely not worth the hype that surrounds it. That being said I do wonder if it is the particular finish of the lipstick that doesn’t work with my lips. Hue is a Glaze lipstick and I have heard people say that certain finishes from MAC just don’t work for them so I’m not giving up hope as the colours of lipsticks that they have are all so gorgeous I do want to try a few more out and hopefully get better results. I haven’t written this review to put you off this lipstick but more as a ‘don’t do what I did’ and make sure you get one of the people to try the lipstick on you so you don’t waste your money.

As my review is quite biased I will say that when my friend came over I let her give it a go and it looked amazing on her so I may have to just palm it off to her the next time I see her. And, as for me I think I’m going to stay away from nude lip products as I just don’t think I have the colouring to pull it off.

You can pick up Hue from the online store, here, for £15.

Have you tried any MAC lipsticks? What is your experience?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

2 responses to “Review: MAC Lipstick in Hue

  1. That’s interesting. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Hue. Guess it’s not for everyone. Creme Cup is a light pink too, though not as natural looking.

Leave a Reply

