The Chunky Lip Crayon Craze

I think I have mentioned before that I bought myself a Clinique Chubby Stick when they were released in the states and I happened to be on holiday there at the time. Since then a number of brands have bought out cheaper alternatives and other higher end options. I thought for today’s post I could share with you my two cents on the ones that I have.

IMG_1554

IMG_1568

IMG_1567

Swatches without flash and with flash. From left to right: Bourjois, Rimmel, Revlon, Clinique & L’Oreal.

Bourjois Colour Boost in 02, Fuchsia Libre – Bourjois win with the staying power that’s for sure. This is the brightest colour of lip crayon I have and I’m not the bravest when it comes to bright lips but this has really helped me to step out of my comfort zone. The colour lasted a good 6 hours on me before I needed to do any touch ups. It’s a very balmy texture and is also very moisturising on the lips. The Bourjois also contains SPF15 and that is always a bonus in my books. There are 6 shades and are priced at £7.99 each for 2.75g.

Rimmel Lasting Finish Colour Rush in 200, Keep Mauving – These ones seem slightly drying on my lips is I haven’t put a good amount of lip balm on before hand but other than that I have nothing bad to say. I think I need to get another colour from the range as the colour I got is only slightly darker than my natural lip colour so I haven’t been able to tell how good the staying power is. For £5.99, they are the cheapest of the lot and have 7 shades on offer with 2.5g of product.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in 005, Crush – Sorry but I really do not get on with the ones from Revlon. The smell makes me feel sick and they just feel a but dry compared to the other ones, which, are much more balmy. There’s not much I can say about these to be honest as the smell stopped me from keeping it on my lips for more than 10 minutes but a lot of people love them. These are £7.99 for 2.7g and have 6 shades to choose from.

Clinique Chubby Stick in 06, Whoopin’ Watermelon – This is the least pigmented out of the bunch, I haven’t gotten round to trying one of the Chubby Stick Intense ones yet but I am assuming they are a lot more pigmented than these ones. I really love the consistency of the Clinique and how effortless it is to apply and how natural this particular shade is for my lips. There are 15 shades and they are priced at £17 for 3g of product.

L’Oreal Glam Shine Balmy Gloss in 912, Sin For Peach – This is my most recent purchase of the lot and so I haven’t had as much time as the others to test out but this seems to be as close to the Clinique one in application and consistency. The staying power isn’t quite as good as the Bourjois but like with the Rimmel one I’ve managed to pick something quite close in colour to my lips so that may just be the particular shade. There are 6 shades avaliable and they retail for £6.99.

I am really enjoying the chunky lip crayon trend and there are a lot of different brands out there that have brought out their own versions that I really want to try out. I think if I had to pick a favourite it would be a tie between the L’Oreal and the Bourjois as they are the most comfortable and on the cheaper side when compared with the Clinique ones. Having said that I do really enjoy the Clinique Chubby Sticks and will probably try out a few other shades at some point.

Have you tried many different brands of lip crayons? Which one is your favourite?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

4 responses to “The Chunky Lip Crayon Craze

Leave a Reply

