Review: Laura Mercier Creme Smooth Foundation

First of all, this is the most expensive foundation I own and I had a few heart palpitations when the lady at the counter told me how much it was. I, however, still bought it (because I can’t control myself) and decided it was about time I told you lovely people about it.

I first found out about this when watching Lisa Eldridge on YouTube and she was doing a whole series on finding the correct foundation for you (best thing I ever stumbled across). I have very very dry skin, only in the summer does it get slightly oily and I can have a few months away from dry patches. So, when I heard that this was one of the best foundations for dry skin, I had to try it.

DSCF1170

DSCF1171

There are 10 shades to choose from and I got matched to Blush Ivory and although it looks a bit darker in the pot than I thought would suit me, once it’s all blended it’s a perfect match. It’s a lot thinner in consistency than I thought it would be and it’s a bit, for lack of a better word, tacky when first applied (tacky as in texture, not tacky like those singing fish). Because of the tackiness it actually weirdly makes it thicker. I don’t think I’m explaining this very well  but basically even though it’s thin in consistency once you apply it it goes tacky to begin with, which, can cause over application. I use the little spatula that comes with it to put about a kidney bean sized amount onto the back of my hand and apply it with my fingers and then use a brush to buff it in.

It’s the kind of foundation that takes a few tries getting used to but once you have it is so wonderful. It has perfect coverage as you can build it up in areas that need it. It looks so natural on the skin and in my personal experience it doesn’ necessarily need a setting powder as it has such great staying powder. I think this is the first foundation I’ve ever had that when I looked in the mirror 8 hours after application it still looked like it did when I first applied it.

I have 2 problems with this foundation, the price and the packaging. The price is £41.50 for 30g and it kind of hurt me to think that I was spending over a weeks food shopping budget but to be honest this stuff really lasts. You only need a small amount for a decent amount of coverage. You don’t need a lot and unfortunately now that I’ve tried it when it runs out I think I’m going to repurchase it. The packaging is lovely in the sense that you can leave it out and it won’t look out of place in your dressing table but it is not suitable for travel. Now obviously I wouldn’t be taking this to the Bahamas (also, I’m not going there but I wish I was) but I am planning a trip to New York next January and this would be the perfect foundation to take. It’s a chunky glass tub and it’s not light so I will have to be de-potting it for my trip (I know this isn’t a huge problem but I’m a really lazy person).

If you have really dry skin and you have tried loads of different foundations, nothings working for you and you have the funds (and by funds I mean you can buy this without having to live off baked beans for the rest of the month) then I really do recommend trying this out. I am now making it my mission to find a foundation like this but with a much smaller price tag. You can get it here, from Space NK online but I do think if you’re new to Laura Mercier that you should go to a counter to get colour matched.

What is your favourite foundation for your skin type?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

You can watch the foundation series that Lisa Eldridge did, here.

Leave a Reply

