Review: Revlon Lip Butters

There was a huge amount of hype over these when they first came out and for a good 6 months or so after that. At the time they came out the concept was somewhat new to the drugstore market so I can understand why everyone (including me) were excited about them when they came out. This review has been a long time coming and the reason for that is that I change my mind about these on a regular basis. The only conclusion I can actually come to is that sometimes I like them and sometimes I don’t. Let me explain.

IMG_1980

IMG_1984

IMG_1990

These came out a good 3 or so years ago (I think) and over that time I have bought myself 5 different shades and out of these shades there is only one that I would say is something I would repurchase. They do what they say on the tin. They’re tinted lip butters in essence and I love that concept but some of the colours just look wrong on my lips. I have also found that a couple of the colours can look a bit patchy on the lips. Through reading other reviews on these the problems I have found, others have also had. I think with the colouring you really need to swatch the products before you buy them (like I did) as the colour of the lipstick isn’t always as sheer as you would expect it to be.

One last issue I have is that they melt. A lot. In the summer (and I mean an English summer, s nothing too hot) I need t keep them in the fridge, especially the red colour for some reason melts more than the other. Now, the colour that I really enjoy is Peach Parfait and this works really well as a moisturising tint to my lips and has a little bit of glitter in it so it also gives a glossy effect.

So other than issue of the colours (which, is more my fault than Revlon’s) if you have the time to go to Boots and swatch the colours and find the ones that work for you then these are lovely to have. The Peach Parfait shade that I have, I go through months of using it everyday and will probably buy a new one when it runs out. The only thing you can’t really control is some of the colours being patchy, as from what I’ve been reading it seems to be different colours for different people so you might just have to chance it, I only have 2 out of 5 that do this and they aren’t particularly pigmented so is only really obvious close up.

I think these are one of the products that are good and when you find a great colour that works for you they are as amazing as people hyped them up to be but, I don’t think they are worth the amount of hype that they got. Honestly, this is why this review took so long because I just can’t make up my mind. I don’t love them and I don’t hate them.

You can pick the up from Boots for £7.99, here. There are 21 shades to choose from.

What are you thoughts on the Revlon Lip Butters?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

6 responses to “Review: Revlon Lip Butters

  1. I really love them Keely! I reviewed them a while ago! The fact that they are affordable makes it worth the hype and I agree with you on the red shade melting off more than the others, thanks for the tip of putting them on the fridge:)

    • It’s really strange that the red one seems to melt more than the others! I’ll give your review a read as I’m still confused about liking them haha x

Leave a Reply

