Winter Hand and Nail Care

If you are a regular reader of my blog you will know that, throughout the year, I suffer with very dry skin. So, when the colder months roll around I need to step up my hand care routine to make sure all my skin doesn’t flake off.

IMG_2392

I got this little hand care kit from Avon for my birthday, which, has a hand scrub, a hand cream and some manicure tools in it. I couldn’t find this on the Avon website but, like the catalogue, this can change from time to time so may be available again at some point. The only other thing that I need that wasn’t included in this kit is a cuticle cream/oil. I like to use the Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream and it smells just like lemon sherbets.

I start off by scrubbing my hands to get rid of any dead skin and give my hands a good massage. I then wash this off with warm water and dry my hands. I then put a small amount of hand cream on the back of my hands (not too much as this particular hand cream is a bit greasier than I normally prefer but in the colder months the extra moisture is needed) and massage that in. I then go about tending to the mess that is my nails. I file and shape and get them looking slightly decent before giving up. If I am going to pain my nails I will do that at this stage. I finish everything off with the cuticle cream. The best thing about this cream is you use it like you would use vaseline but, on your nails. Nice and convenient and also easy to top up on a regular basis.

As we are now in the depths of the colder winter months (well we are in England, anyway) I am eyeing up some new nail colours because I just don’t have enough. Here’s a little wish list of polishes that I may have to treat myself to.

2014-11-28

There are a couple of Essie polishes I have my eye on and hopefully I’ll be able to pop into Boots at some point and have a sneaky purchase. The Julep ones can be found on their website, here but, I can’t find anywhere to get them in the UK (suggestions welcome) so I think these might have to go on my New York wishlist. The Butter London polish will also have to be an online purchase as my local Boots don’t stock the brand.

What do you do to keep your hands and nails moisturised at this time of year? What are your nail polish picks for winter?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

