NEW: Hourglass Modernist Eyeshadow Palette

Let me set the scene for you. It’s the last day of my trip in NYC and I think I should have one last shop in Sephora before having to pack my suitcase and get a long hail flight. As I moved over to the Hourglass section I saw something I thought I hadn’t noticed the other couple of times I went in. One of the employees saw me looking and said they had just been released that day and well, that was it. I had to have one. To be honest, this was Tuesday morning, it is now Thursday evening and I already wish I had bought every single one!! Also, the shadows are presented in such a cool way.

IMG_3166

IMG_3181

IMG_3182

IMG_3196

The palette I treated myself to is named Infinity and it is the most neutral of the palettes. I will insert a stock photo at the end of this post so you can see the other colours in the collection. All the palettes are a mix of matte and shimmer shadows. This particular palette has the most gorgeous bronze/taupe coloured shimmer that I think will look fantastic as a stand a lone shadow with a blacked winged liner.

The first colour in the palette (looking from left to right) is a very pale cream colour, which, doesn’t really show up in my swatches. This is great to use to blend the colours out of you want a really soft and subtle eye look. I also think this would be great in the inner corner to give the eyes a brightening effect. The second colour is a matte light brown  colour that again would be great all over the lid or as a blending colour. We then have the shimmer that I have already mentioned and then two darker browns, with the last being a vert deep chocolate brown.

The texture of these shadows are gorgeous. They are so soft and so pigmented that you need hardly any product. I might try to see how many different looks I can get out of these 5 shadows as I think there are some brilliant combinations waiting to be played with.

The price is high, as you would expect form Hourglass but honestly, like I mentioned above, I wish I had gotten all of them! I picked up mine form the USA so I paid $58 plus tax (don’t make me figure it out, it’s so confusing) I’m not sure how much they are going to be in the UK as I can’t find much information, sorry. But, from some research and looking at the prices of other Hourglass products I would guess the price point will be around £56. They are coming to Space NK next month. They Instagramed a picture of these earlier today and I saw that as a sign to write this post. If you in the States you can pick these up from Sephora, here.

Hourglass-Cosmetics-Modernist-Eyeshadow-Palette-collection1-670x814

*Image from here from a Google image search

What have you tried from Hourglass? Are you looking forward to this release?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a Reply

