Review: YSL Rouge Volupte Shine

The packaging of this lipstick is so unbelievably luxurious I just don’t know what to do with myself. I feel a lot posher than I am being able to whip this out of my bag. The performance of this lipstick, though, is why we’re here.

IMG_3220

IMG_3227

This is a lot brighter than I would normally go for colour wise but the ‘shine’ lipsticks of the range are more sheen and balmy in finish. These are so unbelievably easy to apply that you don’t really need a mirror, even with a brighter shade like this one. It feels quite moisturising on the lips and the colour can be built up but, I tend to go for a subtle amount of colour.

The shade I picked up is number 6, Pink in Devotion. It’s a cooled toned pink with flecks of shimmer running through it. If you’re more of a matte person this one might not be to your taste. The lasting power is in between a lipstick and a balm at about 3/3.5 hours before a little touch up is needed. Saying this, however, the colour fades naturally without patches so if you’re only out for a few hours this will see you through.

Unfortunately this always happens to me. I treat myself to a nice lipstick and then it’s pretty damn good at it’s job and I want more but I can’t afford it. I think it’s hard to go wrong with this particular range of lipsticks from YSL as they are in between the standard lipsticks (when I say standard I mean, your classic lipstick) and the very sheer range they have (the Candy Volupte). The very sheer ones seem to me, a waste of money as they are pretty much a glorified balm. This range, though, I’m in love. You can pick these up from Boots, here for £25.

Have you tried these lipsticks? What’s your favourite high end lipstick brand?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

2 responses to “Review: YSL Rouge Volupte Shine

Leave a Reply

