Beauty Blender

I have heard so so so many things about the original beauty blender and how other makeup sponges are nothing compared to the original but I was never really interested as I had found some great foundation brushes. Then, when I was doing a very naughty shop online at Selfridges I thought ‘screw it’ and threw it into the basket. I was really not expecting huge things from this product to be honest.

IMG_4325

Please excuse my dirty sponge but I have had a few issues getting stains out of it which bring me to first negative of the product. It’s bloody hard to clean (and make it look clean) as you do need to be careful with sharp nails but I have found that Johnson’s bubble bath, the one in the orange bottle, is best for this. My second and last negative is the price, this isn’t cheap and from what I have read they need to be replaced quite often. Now onto what it’s good for. Pretty much everything. I applied my whole face of makeup with this for my wedding and it was the only makeup application tool I took on my honeymoon. This applies makeup like a dream and makes everything look seamless. From my research into this some people do actually use this for a full makeup application, I haven’t tried this yet but aim to do so soon.

I still like using my favourite foundation brushes (Real Techniques Buffing brush I’m looking at you) but this is just so easy and makes for a gorgeous base. These go for £16 at Selfridges here, they are available other places but this where I got mine, I think you may be able to get them from Feel Unique as well. I am really tempted to pick up the tiny little ones from Sephora when I got to Florida next month and I might even pick up another of the original as I really love the look it gives.

Have you tried the Beauty Blender? How about the other options on the market?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

2 responses to “Beauty Blender

  1. I use a realtechniques sponge, but i’ve found a great way to clean them is to soak them in Micellar cleaning water, preferably overnight, then allow them to dry out naturally xx

    I’m also seriously considering buying a beauty blender, I really hope you do an update on how long they last, as I don’t want to buy one only to have to replace it a few months later. I’ve had my current sponge about 4 months now and it’s still holding up really well xx

Leave a Reply

