Review: Real Techniques Bold Metals Contour Brush

Real Techniques brushes are by far my favourite brushes. I have done a couple of reviews on some sets here and here. When they announced the release of some higher market brushes I was intrigued. I only picked up one brush but here are my thoughts.

IMG_3584

IMG_3586

IMG_3592

I went for the most unusual brush as it is nothing like any of the brushes that I already own. This contour brush is the perfect shape for the contours of your face and the brush hairs are very dense making cream products very easy to work with. I have the original contour brush from the Core Collection and have loved using this since I got it but, I think the shape and the brush hairs make the Bold Metals contour brush much easier to work with.

Now, lets get down to the nitty gritty. This brush is £22. That is a lot of money for one brush from a brand you can pick up in the drugstore. The brush hairs are really soft but, I wouldn’t expect much else from the brand as most of their brushes are very soft (only one of the ones that I have tried has a scratchiness to it). The only other brush I have seen like this is one from Illamasqua that goes for £28.50. I think the price puts me off a bit for these brushes. The handle of the brush is made of quite light plastic and I think I was just expecting it to be made of, well, something a bit more substantial. They look a lot more expensive than they feel.

There are a couple of other brushes that I am interested in but it gets to the point where I might as well be spending my money on a MAC brush (even though they are a bit more pricey). I am glad that I picked up this particular brush because it is quite different but I think I would have been quite annoyed of I bought one of the other ones. You can pick up the range of brushes here from £10 to £25.

What is your favourite brush brand? Have you tried any of these brushes? Any recommendations?

Thanks for reading 🙂

xxx

Leave a comment